General Assembly of Illinois - compiled statutes of Illinois (2023)

Illinois compiled statutes
ILCS listingPublicActsSeekguideDisclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau

Updating the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) database is an ongoing process. Current laws may not yet be in the ILCS database but will be found on this website asPublicActssoon after they become law. For information on the relationship between statutes and public statutes, see theguide.

Because the Legislative Database is maintained primarily for the purpose of drafting legislation, amendments to legislation are sometimes included in the Legislative Database before they become effective. If the source at the end of a section of the Articles of Incorporation contains a public statute that is not yet enacted, the current version of the statute may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that public statute for the changes made to the current statute see changes.

735 ILCS 5/15-1603

(735 ILCS 5/15-1603) (from chap. 110, para. 15-1603)
Sek. 15-1603.Repayment.
(a) Redemption Ownership. Except as provided in Section 15-1402 subsection (b), only the owner of a repossession may trigger, and such repossession owner may, during the redemption period specified in Section 15-1603 subsection (b) and only then, a redemption make the right to do so the redemption has not been validly waived.
(b) Redemption Period.
(1) In the foreclosure of a real estate mortgage

If the property is residential at the time foreclosure begins, the repayment period ends on (i) the later date, 7 months after the date the mortgage lender or, if more than one, all the mortgage lenders (A) have been served by subpoena or by publication or (B) otherwise submitted to the jurisdiction of the court, or (ii) the date 3 months after the date of the issuance of any foreclosure order.

(2) For all other enforcements, the repayment period is

expires on the later date of (i) the date which is 6 months after the date on which the Mortgage Lender or, if more than one, all Mortgage Lenders (A) were served with a subpoena or notice, or (B) otherwise subject to the jurisdiction of the court, or (ii) the date 3 months after the date of issuance of a foreclosure order.

(3) Notwithstanding paragraphs (1) and (2), the

The repayment period will expire on the expiration of any grace period provided for in Section 15-1602 or the date 60 days after the date of the foreclosure judgment, whichever is later, if the court finds that (i) the value of the mortgaged property at the time of the judgment is less than 90% of the amount specified under Section 15-1603 subsection (d) and (ii) the mortgagee waives any right to an in-person judgment for a defect against the mortgage lender and against any other person liable for the debt or other liability secured by the mortgage.

(4) Notwithstanding paragraphs (1) and (2), the

The repayment period ends 30 days after the foreclosure order is issued, if the court finds that the mortgaged property has been abandoned. In cases where the Redemption Period is reduced as a result of an Abandonment, the Reinstatement Period may not exceed the reduced Redemption Period.

(c) Extension of Redemption Deadline.
(1) After the expiry of the period, there is a right of withdrawal

for sections 15-1603 or 15-1604 shall not be resuscitated. The period within which the right of withdrawal provided for in Section 15-1603 or 15-1604 may be exercised is independent of any action by a person to enforce the foreclosure order or to effect a sale pursuant to that order. Neither the commencement of any judicial proceeding nor the order of any court to stay the enforcement of any foreclosure order or the sale as a result of a judgment or confirmation of sale shall have the effect of interrupting the redemption period.

(2) When a court has the power to stay and does so

Suspension, expiration of the Redemption Period, or if the Redemption Period is extended by United States law, the Redemption Period will be extended until the expiration of the same number of days after the expiration of the Suspension Order as the number of days remaining in the Redemption Period at the time the Suspension Order became effective , or, if later, within 30 days of the termination of the suspension order. If the suspension order ends more than 30 days before the redemption period expires, the redemption period will not be extended.

(d) Amount Required for Redemption. The amount required for repayment is the sum of:
(1) The amount stated in the judgment

foreclosure consisting of (i) all principal and accrued interest secured by the mortgage and due at the time of judgment, (ii) all costs permitted by law, (iii) costs and expenses approved by the Court, ( iv ) to the extent provided for in the mortgage and approved by the court, additional costs, expenses and reasonable attorneys' fees incurred by the mortgagee, (v) all amounts paid pursuant to Section 15-1505, and (vi) overnight interest from the date of judgment through on the date of repayment calculated at the prevailing mortgage interest rate as if no default had occurred; And

(2) The amount of other expenses authorized by the legislature

Court reasonably incurred by the mortgagee between the date of judgment and the date of repayment, which is the amount certified by the mortgagee under Section 15-1603 subsection (e).

(e) Notice of Intent to Redeem. A Settlement Owner intending to make a repayment must notify the Mortgagee's Counsel in writing of such intention to redeem, stating the intended date of repayment and the Settlement Owner's current address in order to receive notification. The holder of the repossession must file a certificate of delivery of this notice with the court clerk. Notice of intent to repay must be received by the mortgagee's attorney at least 15 days (excluding a Saturday, Sunday or public holiday) prior to the date set for repayment. The mortgagee must then file the application with the Clerk of the Court and provide the holder of the repayment at least three days (other than a Saturday, Sunday or court holiday) before the date scheduled for repayment in writing with a certificate containing copies of the receipts paid or equivalent affidavits, all referred to in paragraph (2) expenses authorized by subsection (d) of Section 15-1603. If the Mortgagee fails to provide such Certification within the time period specified herein, the Repurchaseholder intending to repay may make repayment on the date provided for repayment in the Letter of Intent to Repay and the Mortgagee shall not be entitled to payment of those authorized in paragraph (). Costs. 2) of subsection (d) of Section 15-1603.
(f) Redemption Procedure.
(1) A redemption owner may repurchase the property

from foreclosure by payment of the amount specified in Section 15-1603 subsection (d) to the mortgagee or the mortgagee's attorney of record on or before the date scheduled for repayment under Section 15-1603 subsection (e).

(2) If the mortgagee refuses to accept payment or if

The owner of the repossession of foreclosure contests the reasonableness of the additional costs authorized in section 15-1603 subsection (d) paragraph (2) and certified under section 15-1603 subsection (e), the owner of the repossession is the notarized amount to be paid to the Clerk of the Court no later than the scheduled date for the withdrawal, together with a written statement detailing the charges against which an objection is being made. In this case, the clerk pays the mortgagee the amount offered minus the amount to which the objection relates.

(3) When paying to the clerk, regardless of whether the

If the owner of the repossession objects at the time of payment, the foreclosure officer must provide the foreclosure officer with a receipt of payment and file a copy of that receipt in the foreclosure record. Upon receipt of the amounts payable to the Mortgagee under this Section, the Mortgagee shall promptly provide the Mortgagee with a Mortgage Release or Satisfaction of Judgment and provide evidence of all debts secured by the Mortgage being canceled.

(g) Appeal Procedure. If a redemption owner objects under Section 15-1603 subsection (f) paragraph (2), the Administrator will retain the amount to which the objection relates until the court orders the distribution of such monies. The Court will promptly hold a hearing to determine the distribution of monies held by the Court Clerk as a result of such an appeal. Each party shall bear its own costs and expenses related to any appeal, including attorneys' fees, subject to Section 2-611 of the Code of Civil Procedure.
(h) Failure to redeem. Unless the foreclosed property is repurchased from the foreclosure, it shall be sold in accordance with the provisions of this article.
(Quelle: P.A. 86-974.)


What does Illinois compiled statutes mean? ›

The Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is a compilation of Public Acts, organized by Chapter and Act number under nine topical categories. Public Acts are bills that have been passed by the Illinois General Assembly and signed by the Governor. Most, but not all, Public Acts are incorporated into the ILCS.

What is Illinois compiled statutes 725? ›

725 ILCS 220/ Uniform Act to Secure the Attendance of Witnesses from Within or Without a State in Criminal Proceedings.

What is the 720 Illinois compiled statute? ›

Section 720 ILCS 5/12-6 - Intimidation (a) A person commits intimidation when, with intent to cause another to perform or to omit the performance of any act, he or she communicates to another, directly or indirectly by any means , a threat to perform without lawful authority any of the following acts: (1) Inflict ...

Is Illinois compiled statutes annotated? ›

Drawing its statutory text directly from the official database of the Illinois Legislature, ILCSA contains the most thorough, current, and exact annotations to Illinois statutory law available.

What is a compilation of statutes? ›

Each Statute Compilation incorporates the amendments made to the underlying statute since it was originally enacted. When legislation cites or amends a statutory provision that is not part of a positive law title of the U.S. Code, the citation or amendment must be to the underlying statute, not to the U.S. Code.

What are the Illinois compiled statutes impersonating a police officer? ›

A person who knowingly and falsely represents himself or herself to be a peace officer commits a Class 4 felony. (Source: P.A. 94-730, eff. 4-17-06.)

What are the Illinois compiled statutes criminal trespass to property? ›

The crime is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. A person is guilty of criminal trespass to real property when they enter upon the land of another after receiving knowledge from the owner that the entry is forbidden.

What are Illinois compiled statutes unlawful use of a weapon? ›

(1) Aggravated unlawful use of a weapon is a Class 4 felony; a second or subsequent offense is a Class 2 felony for which the person shall be sentenced to a term of imprisonment of not less than 3 years and not more than 7 years, except as provided for in Section 5-4.5-110 of the Unified Code of Corrections.

What is Illinois compiled statutes Chapter 755 Article 45? ›

The purpose of this Power of Attorney is to give your designated "agent" broad powers to handle your financial affairs, which may include the power to pledge, sell, or dispose of any of your real or personal property, even without your consent or any advance notice to you.

What is Illinois statute 720 5 8 4 A? ›

(a) Elements of the offense. A person commits the offense of attempt when, with intent to commit a specific offense, he or she does any act that constitutes a substantial step toward the commission of that offense.

What is Illinois statute 720 5 9 1? ›

In the event that the death penalty in this Act is held to be unconstitutional by the Supreme Court of the United States or of the State of Illinois, any person convicted of first degree murder shall be sentenced by the court to a term of imprisonment under Chapter V of the Unified Code of Corrections.

What is Illinois Statute 3 701? ›

3-701. Operation of vehicles without evidence of registration - Operation under mileage plates when odometer broken or disconnected.

What is the difference between statutes and annotated statutes? ›

An unannotated code includes the text of the statutes and history notes identifying the origin and amendments for each statute. Annotated codes have this information and also contain citations to cases interpreting the statute, regulations pertaining to the statute, and secondary sources discussing the statute.

What does Section 10 22.39 of the Illinois compiled statutes require? ›

At a minimum, school personnel must be trained to understand, provide information and referrals, and address issues pertaining to youth who are parents, expectant parents, or victims of domestic or sexual violence.

What is Illinois statute 5 2 2301? ›

2-2301. Settlement of claims; payment. (a) In a personal injury, property damage, wrongful death, or tort action involving a claim for money damages, a release must be tendered to the plaintiff by the settling defendant within 14 days of written confirmation of the settlement.

What's the difference between a law and a statute? ›

Statutes, also known as acts, are laws passed by a legislature. Federal statutes are the laws passed by Congress, usually with the approval of the President.

What are the two types of statutes? ›

Types of Statutes

Slip laws are the laws passed by the legislature, published individually. Session laws are the chronological compilation of slip laws passed by the legislature during a legislative session.

Are compilations fair use? ›

Just like any other use of another's work, you need permission to use someone's work in creating a compilation. »However, compilations made up of works that are not protected by copyright do not require permissions.

Can a felon become a cop in Illinois? ›

Minimum Requirements to be a Police Officer in Illinois

An applicant cannot have been convicted of a felony. An applicant must be a citizen of the United States. An applicant must possess a valid driver's license at the time of completing the application.

Is it illegal to record a police officer in Illinois? ›

In simple terms, Illinois residents have the right to record public interactions with the police, according to Bobby Vanecko, an intern at First Defense Legal Aid.

What happens if you file a false police report in Illinois? ›

Filing a false police report can fall under the crime of disorderly conduct, and it can be a felony. That's because when someone files a false police report, it takes police resources to investigate. Under Illinois law, filing a false police report can carry a penalty of 1 to 3 years in prison.

Can you physically remove someone from your property in Illinois? ›

(b) A property owner, a lessee, an agent of either the owner or lessee, or a performer or participant may use reasonable force to restrain a trespasser and remove him or her from the restricted area; however, any use of force beyond reasonable force may subject that person to any applicable criminal penalty.

What are the new trespassing laws in Illinois 2023? ›

Under the new amendment, an officer can arrest someone for trespassing if: The person poses a threat to the community or any person; Arrest is necessary because criminal activity persists after issuance of the citation; or. The accused has an obvious medical or mental health issue that poses a risk to their safety.

What ILCS is trespassing to land? ›

Criminal trespass to State supported land is a Class A misdemeanor, except a violation of subsection (a-5) of this Section is a Class A misdemeanor for a first violation and a Class 4 felony for a second or subsequent violation. (Source: P.A. 97-1108, eff. 1-1-13; 98-748, eff. 1-1-15 .)

How much time can a convicted felon get for possession of firearm in Illinois? ›

sentencing range is 3 to 7 years. However, people convicted of a Class 2 felon in possession of a firearm offense must be sentenced to prison, and the sentencing range is 3 to 14 years. Under both federal and Illinois law, it is illegal for a person with a prior felony conviction to possess a firearm.

What is a misdemeanor in Illinois for unlawful use of a weapon? ›

A person who is charged with unlawful use of a weapon for a FOID card or concealed carry violation will likely be charged with a Class A misdemeanor as long as this is his or her first instance of this nature. This means that he or she can face up to one year in jail and up to $2,500 in fines.

What are the Illinois compiled statutes theft of mislaid property? ›

Theft of lost or mislaid property where: (1) the value does not exceed $500 is a Class B misdemeanor; (2) the value exceeds $500 but does not exceed $10,000 is a Class A misdemeanor; and (3) the value exceeds $10,000 is a Class 4 felony .

What are exceptions to the statute of limitations in Illinois? ›

Exceptions to the Rules

For example, the statute of limitations may not start until after: An injured victim turns 18. A legally disabled person recovers from their disability. The defendant returns to the state after having left.

What is Illinois statute 410? ›

Each physician, health care provider, health services corporation and insurance company shall refrain from disclosing the nature or details of services provided to patients, except that such information may be disclosed: (1) to the patient, (2) to the party making treatment decisions if the patient is incapable of ...

What is statute 6 103 Illinois? ›

Sec. 6-103. Certificate of notarial acts. (a) A notarial act must be evidenced by a certificate signed and dated by the notary public.

What is Illinois Statute 11 801? ›

11-801. Required position and method of turning. (a) The driver of a vehicle intending to turn at an intersection shall do so as follows: (1) Both the approach for a right turn and a right turn shall be made as close as practical to the right-hand curb or edge of the roadway.

What is Illinois Statute 5 11 701? ›

Sec. 11-701. Drive on right side of roadway - exceptions. side of the public highway and 2 vehicles meet thereon, the driver on whose right is the wider shoulder shall give the right-of-way on such pavement to the other vehicle.

What is Illinois Statute 11 1301? ›

(a) Outside a business or residence district, no person shall stop, park or leave standing any vehicle, whether attended or unattended, upon the roadway when it is practicable to stop, park or so leave such vehicle off the roadway, but in every event an unobstructed width of the highway opposite a standing vehicle ...

What is IL Statute 11 710? ›

11-710. Following too closely. (a) The driver of a motor vehicle shall not follow another vehicle more closely than is reasonable and prudent, having due regard for the speed of such vehicles and the traffic upon and the condition of the highway.

What is IL statute 5 11 708? ›

No vehicle may be driven over, across, or within any such dividing space, barrier, or section, except through an opening in the physical barrier, or dividing section, or space, or at a cross-over or intersection as established by public authority.

What is Illinois statute 720 550 5 C? ›

Under Illinois law it is unlawful for any person to knowingly deliver cannabis, or manufacture it, or possess cannabis with the intent to deliver. The Penalties Under Statute 720 Ilcs 550/5 Vary Depending on Quantity, Proximity to a School, Prior Criminal History, and Other Circumstances.

What is Illinois statute 5 11 709? ›

(a) A vehicle shall be driven as nearly as practicable entirely within a single lane and shall not be moved from such lane until the driver has first ascertained that such movement can be made with safety.

What is Illinois statute 6 206? ›

6-206. Discretionary authority to suspend or revoke license or permit; right to a hearing. Section 12-610.2 that resulted in great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement, in which case the driving privileges of the person shall be suspended for 12 months.

What is Illinois statute 5 6 101? ›

6-101. Drivers must have licenses or permits. (a) No person, except those expressly exempted by Section 6-102, shall drive any motor vehicle upon a highway in this State unless such person has a valid license or permit, or a restricted driving permit, issued under the provisions of this Act.

Are statutes legally binding? ›

Federal laws (statutes), enacted by the United States Congress, must be followed by every state in the country. If a state law contradicts a federal law, the federal statute preempts the state law, and the state will be required to abide by the federal statute.

Are statutes and ordinances the same? ›

Q: What's the difference between a statute and an ordinance? A: Unlike a statute, or state law, an ordinance is a local law that is passed by municipal governing authorities, such as a city council or county board of commissioners. Ordinances also apply only to the local jurisdiction, as opposed to the entire state.

Are statutes written law? ›

Statutory law or statute law is written law passed by a body of legislature. This is opposed to oral or customary law; or regulatory law promulgated by the executive or common law of the judiciary.

What is statute 115 10 in Illinois? ›

Sec. 115-10. Certain hearsay exceptions. the victim describing any complaint of such act or matter or detail pertaining to any act which is an element of an offense which is the subject of a prosecution for a sexual or physical act against that victim.

What is Illinois statute 11 1308? ›

11-1308. Unauthorized use of parking places reserved for electric vehicles.

What is Illinois statute 11 904? ›

11-904. Vehicle entering stop or yield intersection. (a) Preferential right-of-way at an intersection may be indicated by stop or yield signs as authorized in Section 11-302 of this Chapter.

What is Illinois statute 625 5 12 201? ›

12-201. When lighted lamps are required. (a) When operated upon any highway in this State, every motorcycle shall at all times exhibit at least one lighted lamp, showing a white light visible for at least 500 feet in the direction the motorcycle is proceeding.

What is Illinois compiled statutes residential burglary? ›

§ 19-3. Residential burglary. (a) A person commits residential burglary when he or she knowingly and without authority enters or knowingly and without authority remains within the dwelling place of another, or any part thereof, with the intent to commit therein a felony or theft.

What is the difference between trespass and trespass on the case? ›

The writs of trespass and trespass on the case are the two catchall torts from English common law, the former involving trespass against the person, the latter involving trespass against anything else which may be actionable.

Can you go to jail for trespassing in Illinois? ›

Under the Illinois Criminal Code, trespass is misdemeanor. This can get you 30 days to 6 months in jail, and a maximum $500 fine. Criminal trespass to real property happens two basic ways: When someone enters after being warned not to, or.

What qualifies as a gun case in Illinois? ›

For the purpose of subsection 430 ILCS 66/65(b), a “case” includes a glove compartment or console that completely encloses the concealed firearm or ammunition, the trunk of the vehicle, or a firearm carrying box, shipping box, or other container.

How long do you go to jail for burglary in Illinois? ›

Typically, a general burglary case results in a Class 3 felony charge, bringing a potential two- to a five-year prison sentence. If the building was damaged in the process, the charge would elevate to a Class 2 felony, which has the potential of between three and seven years in prison.

What is the Illinois statute theft from a person? ›

(1) Theft of property not from the person and not exceeding $500 in value is a Class A misdemeanor. (1.1) Theft of property not from the person and not exceeding $500 in value is a Class 4 felony if the theft was committed in a school or place of worship or if the theft was of governmental property.

What is the Illinois compiled statutes for threatening a public official? ›

(c) Threatening a public official or human service provider is a Class 3 felony for a first offense and a Class 2 felony for a second or subsequent offense. (Source: P.A. 100-1, eff. 1-1-18 .)

What is Illinois statutes Chapter 755 Estates 7 disclaimer? ›

Disclaimer. (a) Right to Disclaim Interest in Property. A person to whom any property or interest therein passes, by whatever means, may disclaim the property or interest in whole or in part by delivering or filing a written disclaimer as hereinafter provided.


1. Redistricting in Illinois
(Illinois Senate Republican Caucus)
2. State of Illinois Legislative Update 01 20 2023
(Illinois Extension Community Economic Development)
3. Civics for Advocates
(Illinois Environmental Council)
4. Illinois State Budget Crisis Impact
(Illinois Extension Community Economic Development)
5. Illinois Democrats OK new legislative maps over criticism
(WGN News)
6. Clarifying misinformation on the Illinois Safe-T Act
(KSDK News)


Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Kareem Mueller DO

Last Updated: 08/16/2023

Views: 5586

Rating: 4.6 / 5 (66 voted)

Reviews: 89% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Kareem Mueller DO

Birthday: 1997-01-04

Address: Apt. 156 12935 Runolfsdottir Mission, Greenfort, MN 74384-6749

Phone: +16704982844747

Job: Corporate Administration Planner

Hobby: Mountain biking, Jewelry making, Stone skipping, Lacemaking, Knife making, Scrapbooking, Letterboxing

Introduction: My name is Kareem Mueller DO, I am a vivacious, super, thoughtful, excited, handsome, beautiful, combative person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.